Vicious Rumer

By Joshua Winning

Haunted. Hunted. Cursed. You’ve never met anybody like Rumer Cross.

Sci-fi & Fantasy | Young adult
103% funded
217 supporters
Published

Publication date: Spring 2018

book cover
Rewards for this book are not available.

Sold out!

$7 
82 pledges

Digital

Ebook edition
$20  + shipping
25 pledges

Super Patron (Early Bird Discount)

Special Early Bird price. 1st edition paperback, ebook edition and your name in the list of Super Patrons in the front of the book.

Only 25 available.

$20  + shipping
1 pledge

Paperback

Paperback and ebook edition
$25  + shipping
93 pledges

Super Patron Paperback

1st edition paperback, ebook edition and your name in the list of Super Patrons in the front of the book.
$40  + shipping
8 pledges

Awesome Extras

A set of collector's edition postcards plus everything at the Super Patron Paperback level.

20 available

$65  + shipping
8 pledges

Sentinel Bumper

Paperback copies of the author's The Sentinel Trilogy plus everything at the Super Patron Paperback level.
$75  + shipping
2 pledges

Launch Party

A special invite to attend the launch party in London, plus ebook and paperback editions, and your name in the back of the book.

Only 5 available

$160  + shipping
3 pledges

Name a character

Become immortalised in print by having a key character named after you plus everything at the Super Patron Paperback level!

Final approval on names down to the author.

Three more released!

$250 
1 pledge

Manuscript Edit

The author will edit your manuscript (max 80,000 words), plus an ebook edition of Killing Rumer.
$315  + shipping
1 pledge

Frontispiece

A personal dedication from the author in the front and the ebook edition.

Only one available.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long will it take for my book to get dispatched?

For books in stock we usually dispatch orders within a few working days. You will receive a dispatch email when your order is on the way.

Where can I get my book delivered to?

We have temporarily stopped taking orders for published books going to EU destinations due to BREXIT restrictions, but we deliver to most other countries worldwide. Enter your delivery address during checkout and we'll display the shipping cost when we know where to send your book. If your country does not appear on the list we are not currently taking orders to that destination.

If I buy an ebook, when will I receive this?

Ebook files are sent via email after checkout, or you can download them from your Unbound account.

Where can I buy a copy if there's none available through the Unbound website?

The book should be available to order from most bookshops, or you can support your local bookshop online by ordering from bookshop.org.

Still have a question? Visit our Help Centre to find out more.

‘Unpredictable, brutal and utterly compelling’ – A Fantastical Librarian

Rumer Cross is cursed. Scraping by working for a dingy London detective agency, she lives in the shadow of her mother, a violent criminal dubbed the ‘Witch Assassin’ whose bloodthirsty rampage terrorised London for over a decade.

Raised by foster families who never understood her and terrified she could one day turn into her mother, Rumer has become detached and self-reliant. But when she’s targeted by a vicious mobster who believes she’s hiding an occult relic, she’s drawn into the very world she’s been fighting to avoid.

Hunted by assassins and haunted by her mother’s dark legacy, Rumer must also confront a terrible truth: that she’s cursed, because no matter what she does, everybody she’s ever grown close to has died screaming.

Set in an urban sprawl of bullet-riddled buildings, Vicious Rumer is a thriller for fans of Jessica Jones, Lisbeth Salander and films like The Craft.

Q&A 

Who are you?
I write things! I grew up in a tiny town in Suffolk before studying film at university and then moving to the Big Smoke. When I'm not writing for Total Film, SFX or Gay Times, I'm doing fiction-type things like this. 

What the heck is Vicious Rumer?
You mean apart from my baby? It's a genre-blitzing horror thriller inspired by everything from Jessica Jones and The Maltese Falcon to the most badass '90s teenager, Nancy from The Craft. It's just about the meanest, leanest thrill-ride you'll get this side of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.

Have you already written it, then?
Yep! I'm on the third draft and it's ready to roll as soon as the book is funded.

So why are you crowdfunding on Unbound? Unbound has a fantastic rep in the industry and the books they publish are not only great quality, but have been long-listed for things like the Booker Prize. They are, without a doubt, the future of publishing.

What do you need money for?
All the money raised through crowdfunding goes straight into the book. It covers editing, cover design, proofing and publicity. By pledging, you're helping to make this book happen. So thank you!

What do I get?
There are all sorts of bonuses. You get a copy of the book, plus other cool rewards depending on the pledge level you choose. You also get to help this struggling writer fulfil his dream, which is sort of lovely, right?

When do I get the book?
Soon-ish, probably mid-2018. Before it's printed, it needs to go through rigorous edits, and then there's the matter of designing the cover (exciting!).

Where do I sign up?
Easy, just take a look at the pledge levels to the right and decide which one you fancy. Thank you so much for your support!

Buy

Quick select rewards

$25  + shipping
93 pledges

Super Patron Paperback

1st edition paperback, ebook edition and your name in the list of Super Patrons in the front of the book.
$7 
82 pledges

Digital

Ebook edition