This Is Not About You

By Rosemary Mac Cabe

A memoir about dating and romance, or lack thereof – from one terrible man to the next

Autobiography | Humour
107% funded
763 supporters
Writing in progress

Publication date: TBC

Support this project
The crowd has spoken – This Is Not About You is happening. Pre-order your reward now.
$15 
389 pledges

eBook

Ebook plus your name printed in the back.
Choose this reward
$40  + shipping
265 pledges

First edition hardback

Get your copy of This Is Not About You, except you get to have it be kind of about you, because your name will be in the back among the list of supporters.

PLUS:

  • eBook
Choose this reward
$55  + shipping
89 pledges

Signed hardback

Get your signed copy of This Is Not About You, except you get to have it be kind of about you, because your name will be in the back among the list of supporters.

PLUS:

  • eBook
Choose this reward
$60  + shipping
6 pledges

Dogs > men

A signed first edition hardback of This Is Not About You, with a photograph of Rosemary’s dog, Coileán, tucked somewhere into the book.

PLUS:

  • eBook
Choose this reward
$70  + shipping
8 pledges

Book bundle

Buy two copies of the book: one for you, one for a friend.

PLUS:

  • Two eBooks
Choose this reward
$75  + shipping
1 pledge

This postcard is not about you

A pack of four postcards featuring the cover art from the book. Plus a signed copy of the book and eBook with your name in the back among the list of supporters.

PLUS:

  • eBook
Choose this reward
$90  + shipping
2 pledges

Totes narcissistic

You’ll get a This Is Not About You tote bag, plus a signed copy of the book with your name in the back among the list of supporters.

PLUS:

  • eBook
Choose this reward
$105  + shipping
5 pledges

Bundle of joy

You’ll get a tote, a mug and a signed copy of the book with your name in the back among the list of supporters.

PLUS:

  • eBook
Choose this reward
$120  + shipping
2 pledges

In conversation

An exclusive audio interview with Rosemary, discussing This Is Not About You, the writing and publishing process (and whether any of her exes have complained). Plus you’ll get a signed copy of the book.

PLUS:

  • eBook
Choose this reward
$150  + shipping
1 pledge

Email my heart

Do you have some tough truths to tell an ex? Rosemary will write a bespoke email from you to them, outlining exactly what went wrong (and why it’s all their fault), plus you’ll receive a signed copy of the book with your name in the back among the list of supporters.

PLUS:

  • eBook
Choose this reward
$225  + shipping
1 pledge

Love story

Rosemary will write the short story of your love life, plus you’ll receive two signed copies of the book with your name and a name of your choice in the back among the list of supporters.

PLUS:

  • eBook
Choose this reward
$900  + shipping

Talk is(n't) cheap

Rosemary will come and give a talk at your school, workplace or other establishment on a topic of your choosing – whether you want her to discuss the book, her career, a more general discussion on mental health, the world is your oyster! Plus you’ll receive 20 signed copies of the book with your name or your company or organisation's name in the back.
Rosemary's accommodation/ travel from Dublin not included
Only 10 available

PLUS:

  • 20 eBooks
Choose this reward
$1,500  + shipping

Loving kindness

Your name or your book club or company's name in a special section at the back of the book thanking you for your support, plus ten signed copies of the book.
Only 5 available

PLUS:

  • Ten eBooks
Choose this reward
$7,500  + shipping

True love

Your name in a special section at the front of the book, thanking you for your support, plus ten signed copies of the book, ten mugs and ten tote bags.
Only 1 available

PLUS:

  • Ten eBooks
Choose this reward

Frequently Asked Questions

Where can I get my book delivered to?

We deliver to most countries worldwide. Enter your delivery address during checkout and we'll display the shipping cost when we know where to send your book.

How do supporter names work?

Every person who pledges to help to make a book gets their name included in a supporter section as a thank you as long as they pledge before the list closing deadline. If you want to add a different name, this can be changed in your account after you have completed your pledge.

Will the book and rewards that I receive look the same as the images shown on the Unbound website?

Book designs, cover and other images are for illustrative purposes and may differ from final design.

Still have a question? Visit our Help Centre to find out more.

Writer and journalist Rosemary Mac Cabe has always been a serial monogamist – never happier than when she is in a relationship or, at the very least, on the way to being in one.

This is a memoir that follows a love life as it moves through first love to first lust, first heartbreak to a series of disappointments and beyond. It’s a tale of a woman trying to find herself but, instead of looking inward, looking to other people for self-discovery.

This Is Not About You is a life story in a series of love stories. About Henry, with the big nose and the lovely mum, with whom sex was like having a verruca frozen off in the doctor's surgery: "uncomfortable, but I had entered into this willingly". About Dan, with the goatee. About Luke, who gave her a split condom and a talking bear who said, “I love you so much, Rosemary. I will never, ever leave you." About Francis, who was married...

In a society that teaches us to look for the fairytale, this is a story without a beginning, middle and end. It’s a story of repeating the same mistakes and expecting different results, of taking circuitous routes to disappointing destinations and of dedicating far too much time, effort and energy to prioritising the needs and desires of others.

Pledge to support this book if you have ever loved someone, lost someone, or looked for a partner when you were really trying to find yourself.

ABOUT THE BOOK

  • Demy hardback - 14.4 x 22.2 cm
  • 256 pages
  • By the Irish journalist and podcaster Rosemary Mac Cabe
  • For fans of Dolly Alderton, Daisy Buchanan and Holly Bourne
  • New pledge levels and stretch goals to be revealed

The cover design is for illustrative purposes only and is subject to change

Support this project

Quick select rewards

$15 
389 pledges

eBook

Ebook plus your name printed in the back.
Choose this reward