Currency $ USD
Still funding
2% funded
18 backers

A new generation of poets from the North recorded live on Saturday 14th October at Durham Town Hall as part of Durham Book Festival.

Poet Andrew McMillan draws together a new generation of poets from across the North to celebrate the rich seams of poetry that run through the region. Poets from Yorkshire, the North East and the North West will gather to share their work at a special gala event hosted by New Writing North at Durham Book Festival. Recorded in front of a live audience the work will then be committed to vinyl as a record of this special moment in time.

Polly Atkin
Malika Booker
Seán Hewitt
Zaffar Kunial
Melissa Lee Houghton
Pippa Little
Andrew McMillan
Kim Moore
Mark Pajak
Vidyan Ravinthiran
Ruby Robinson
Degna Stone

Andrew McMillan was born in South Yorkshire in 1988. His debut collection of poetry, Physical, (Jonathan Cape) was the first ever poetry collection to win The Guardian First Book Award. The collection also won the Fenton Aldeburgh First Collection Prize, a Somerset Maugham Award (2016), an Eric Gregory Award (2016) and a Northern Writers' Award (2014). It was shortlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize, the Costa Poetry Award, The Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year 2016, the Forward Prize for Best First Collection, the Roehampton Poetry Prize and the Polari First Book Prize.

Polly Atkin lives in Cumbria. Her debut poetry pamphlet Bone Song (Aussteiger) was shortlisted for the Michael Marks Award. Her second, Shadow Dispatches (Seren) won the Mslexia Poetry Pamphlet Prize and was shortlisted for the Lakeland Book of the Year. Her first collection, Basic Nest Architecture was published by Seren in 2017. An extract from the collection was awarded New Writing North’s Waterhouse Award in 2014.

Malika Booker is an international writer whose work is steeped in anthropological research methodology and rooted in storytelling. Her writing spans poetry, theatre, monologue and education. She has worked with Arts Council England, BBC, British Council, Wellcome Trust, National Theatre, RSC, Arvon and Hampton Court Palace on creative projects. She co-founded the famous Malika’s Poetry Kitchen in 2001 that has supported many new poets to develop their work.

Seán Hewitt won a Northern Writers’ Award in 2016. His poetry has been published in POETRY, The Poetry Review and The New Statesman amongst others.

Melissa Lee Houghton is a Next Generation poet. Her three poetry collections are published by Penned in the Margins and her third poetry collection, Sunshine, was shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards and had a poem shortlisted for the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem in 2016. She was recently awarded a Northern Writers’ Award for her fiction and her short stories have been broadcast on BBC Radio 4.

Pippa Little lives in Northumberland. She is a Royal Literary Fund Fellow at Newcastle University. Her first collection, The Spar Box, came out in 2006 and was a PBS Pamphlet Choice. She has received an Eric Gregory Award, The Norman MacCaig Centenary Prize and The Andrew Waterhouse Northern Promise Award. Her new collection of poetry, Twist was published by Arc in May 2017.

Kim Moore’s first collection, The Art of Falling, was published by Seren in 2015 and a poem from that collection was shortlisted for The Forward Prize for Best Published Poem. Her pamphlet If We Could Speak Like Wolves was a winner in the Poetry Business Pamphlet competition. She has won an Eric Gregory Award and a Northern Writers’ Award.

Mark Pajak was born in Merseyside. His work has been published in Magman, The North and The Rialto and been highly recommended in the National Poetry Competition and won the Bridport Prize. He has received a Northern Writers’ Award and was Apprentice Poet in Residence at Ilkley Literature Festival. His first pamphlet, Spitting Distance, was selected as a Laureate’s Choice by Carol Ann Duffy and is published by smith|doorstop.

Vidyan Ravinthiran lives in Durham and is the author of Grun-tu-molani (Bloodaxe), which was shortlisted for several awards including the Forward Prize for Best First Collection. His study of Elizabeth Bishop, Prosaic, is the winner of the Warren-Brooks Award for Literary Criticism. He edits at Prac Crit the online magazine of poetry and poetics and is a winner of a Northern Writers’ Award.

Ruby Robinson was born in Manchester and grew up in South Yorkshire. Her poems have appeared in The Poetry Review and Poetry (Chicago). Her debut collection, Every Little Sound was published by Pavilion Poetry an imprint of Liverpool University Press and was shortlisted for the Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection, the T S Eliot Prize and selected for Read Regional.

Degna Stone is the co-founder and Managing Editor of Butcher’s Dog poetry magazine and a contributing editor to The Rialto. She holds an MA in Creative Writing from Newcastle University. She received a Northern Writers’ Award in 2015 and is a graduate of The Complete Works III.

It looks like Andrew McMillan (editor) has not made any updates yet. Check back soon!

Join in the conversation

Sign in to ask a question